aeaf 2017 entries


aeaf speaker lineup

aartists in motion AEAF Speakers Program

Legion - Amorphous


MPC and FX Promos teamed up to create the ‘Amorphous’ teaser for the eagerly anticipated second season of Legion. In the spot, several faces seamlessly flow into each other, revealing different aspects of the hero's complex personality and teasing new characters to the viewer.


The MPC team worked with the raw footage of each of the six characters to morph their faces together seamlessly, and unique facial traits, eye blinks and facial expressions had to be taken into account when crafting the spot. Each character was shot using a motion-controlled camera which was synced with a computer-controlled lighting rig. The rotating lights and camera were all triggered by the audio guide track which had been pre-recorded with each of the characters reciting all of the dialogue lines.

The characters were shot against green screen with adjustable stands and platforms to ensure the most consistent lineup possible.

This project was really collaborative and exploratory – the team were able to add more character sequences and more frames into the final film and they had the freedom to develop it as we went along. The only thing that they had to guide them was the audio track with the characters speaking.

It was important to capture all of the little nuances of how each character’s face looked as they reacted to what others were saying, so the team studied previous footage of each character in previous episodes of the series while they were working on the spot. However, one of the most important things was that the character’s eyes remain consistent during the face morphing sequence, ensuring that everyone’s eyes were lined up to maintain intense eye contact with the viewer, as people are automatically drawn to the eyes. 

VFX crew Animatiors

Creative Director - Rob Hodgson
VFX Supervisor Toya Drechsler, Sandra Ross
CG Supervisors - Clement Ranaudin, Josh Hatton
2D Compositors - Sandra Ross, Eric Weinschenk, Hector Cabrera, Kathleen Kirkman, Gizmo Rivera, Dylan Brown, Anand Sagar, Bala Krishnan R, Dilshad Alam, Gijo Abraham George, Gopalsamy SC, Jahnvi Mistry, Karthik C, Mithun Alex, Ragesh R, Rajinikanth R, S Rajesh, S. Samson Samuel, Vipin tripathi
Clean Up - Aginesh, Ajeet Pratap Singh, Alex J., Anupam Kumar, Arulanandhan, Jaswan Vishnu Prasath, K. Gandhiraj, Kamalkant Shrivastav, M D Karthikeyan, Maneesh Kumar, Naresh, Pramod Dwivedi, Stevenson G, Suresh Pitchuka, Vaishali Awanghade
Roto - Bruno Roosewelt, Kishan Katrimal, Likin Ganpathy CP, Manu PS, Muthu Vishnu, Praveenkumar Samiraj, R Vignesh, S Ravisankar, Shagandeep Kaur
Tracking - Ajith PA, Ankit Dheraj Toppo, Earnest Victor, Elangovan Ganeshan, Manohar Rao V, Mohammad Qasim, Muruganantham T, Shaik Abdul Rahim, Shristi, Sanyal, Sivapriyan, Sravan Kumar, Sreenivasa Aditya Yanamalachintala, Srikanth S
DMP - Rocco Gioffre, Edward Grad
Modeler - Rodrigo Carrasco, Joel Durham

Lighter - Nate Skeen, Kyung Park, Brendon Echsner

Line Producer - Mathan Prabhu

CG Set Supervisor - Rune Månsson
<span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Calibri;