aeaf 2017 entries


aeaf speaker lineup

aartists in motion AEAF Speakers Program


TV Series

The Watch



We were proud to be a key creative partner on The Watch; the BBC America series bringing Terry Pratchett’s fantastical Discworld to the small screen. For the series, we delivered extensive post-vis, high-end VFX and crafted two very different types of dragon - from concept to final creature.

The brief asked us to come up with ideas for dragons that hadn’t been done before; breathing life into complex, magical creatures that are grounded enough to be believable. Our art department jumped at the challenge; crafting concepts of two vastly different beasts; ‘Goodboy’, an adorable dragon small enough to fit in the palm of your hand, and ‘Noble Dragon’, a creature the size of a jumbo jet and made up of FX-driven smoke, fire, and lightning. These were then developed into the full-CG, hand-animated creatures that you see on screen.

Fan favourite, Goodboy, had to be charming while also function as a hand-held flamethrower. His facial animation was driven with the brief of incorporating Pratchett’s tongue-in-cheek wit, as he interacts with the characters around him. Designed for a small supporting role, he became so popular he was written into the show as a regular character.

To make Noble Dragon feel different to the dragons we all know so well from other popular fantasy series and films, we wanted to give her an ethereal, smoky quality. This meant it would need to be highly FX-driven. The team designed and modelled the character from the ground up, including scales – even though they wouldn’t be seen by the audience.


John Batchelor
Nick Pavlov
Steven Brown
Nicolas Seck

CGI Supervisor
Ian Jones

VFX Supervisor
Sue Land

Art Director
Stu Bayley

Exec Producer
Jonathan Rawlinson

Head of Production
Jane Forsyth

VFX Producer
Fiona York

Graham Collier
Daniel Lloyd Wood
Adrian Vickers

Scene Development
Jon Clayton

Model & Texture
Jason Clowes
David Weaver
Abner Marin

Florian Friedmann

Pipeline TD
Nick Weeden

Joe Worthington

Aoife Greenham
Giedrius Svirskis
Kai Gadd
Matt Foster
Sarah Juniper
Arnaud Dumeyni
Richard Steenoven
Karen Kelly
Daren Kelly

Rosa Sanchez

Houdini, Maya, V-Ray, Nuke, 3DSMax