English Chinese (Simplified) French German Hindi Italian Japanese Korean Portuguese Spanish

aeaf 2017 entries


aeaf speaker lineup

aartists in motion AEAF Speakers Program


CATEGORY: Feature Films VFX

THE LITTLE STRANGER tells the story of Dr. Faraday, the son of a housemaid, who has built a life of quiet respectability as a country doctor. During the long hot summer of 1948, he is called to a patient at Hundreds Hall, where his mother once worked. The Hall has been home to the Ayres family for more than two centuries. But it is now in decline and its inhabitants - mother, son and daughter - are haunted by something more ominous than a dying way of life. When he takes on his new patient, Faraday has no idea how closely, and how disturbingly, the family's story is about to become entwined with his own.
Ed Bruce was the films Visual Effects Supervisor covering the on-set phoptography and oversaw the SSVFX's team, which was made up of 23 artists and Production Crew. The team delivered 181 shots for "The Little Stranger" over the course of 6 months. As with all productions, the goal is to enhance the visual desire of the director. Set in the late 1940’s, it was paramount to ensure all work on both the interior and exterior of ‘Hundreds Hall’ was historically accurate. From the early stages of planning the project, it became clear that we would need to create a fully CG extension to Hundreds Hall, tailored to the director’s requirements and the stories needs. We aimed to create a seamless transition from our work to the real location, to create invisible visual effects where you cant tell where the original building stops and our work starts. Set extensions, crowd duplications and blue screen replacements were just some of the other requirements we assisted on for this great project.


Ed Bruce - VFX Supervisor
Eric Kohler - Executive Producer
Nicholas Murphy - Production Manager
Kenneth Coyne - Producer
Laura Murphy - VFX Coordinator Amrei Bronnenmayer
Andrew Rea
Arnaud Ortmann
Daniel Anderson
Darragh Duffy
David Thomas
Denny Cahill
Eloi Garcia Martorell
Jonas Stiltz
Joy McKeon
Krzysztof Fendryk
Leona Helly
Michal Fryzlewicz
Miguel Santos
Mihai Dumbravescu
Paula Ferrer
Richard Endean
Ronan Gantly
Stacy Mangan
Stefano Rolando


Nuke, 3dsMax, Photoshop